Writer On The Block

Too content to write.

Too content to look past the length of sight.

At last, I can hear the birds outside!

But blank pages stay dry, ’til silence drives me to lines where I confide.

Finally! I can smell the candles burn.

But to hide behind the clothing of words is what these empty pages yearn.

The warmth of a blanket, I was once too numb to feel.

Clockwork behind my eyes, the constant spinning of a wheel.

A distraction from my lover’s lips, that I now can taste!

More than before, while paper misses ink that can’t be erased.

Writing about the words I was too content to find?

What a silly gimmick from a clearly desperate mind.

But it seems to have done the trick after all!

No ink stained scrap goes wasted, even if crumpled to a ball.

Scribbled text, like butterfly effects.

Fulfilled it’s part, that helped strengthen the next.

A heart left poured, thoughts linked to a hand and pen; words explored.

Pages, and pages more, when sadness escapes me like today, the pen shows me what

I’m thankful for.

– Paul Nazifi

If you’d like to check out more of Paul’s creative work be sure to follow his Soundcloud

Leave a comment